Crisis Hotline Phone: 1-800-344-5818

Honoring behavioral Health innovation & advancement


Presented annually, the RECOVERY ADVISORY/QUALITY IMPROVEMENT Council FRIEND OF RECOVERY Awards honor people and organizations who are making strides and influencing change to advance behavioral health in the six county region. The Mental Health & Recovery Services Board introduced the FRIEND OF RECOVERY Awards to recognize community members and outstanding work in advocacy, prevention, intervention, treatment, recovery, innovation and reducing social stigma. The FRIEND OF RECOVERY Awards honor people and organizations within the seven following categories. Honorees are recognized at the annual Recovery Advisory meeting.

PASTOR STEVE HARROP (Cornerstone Full Gospel Church) – For his outstanding support of addiction recovery through coordinating community prayer sessions, offering a “Celebrate Recovery” program, and assisting with the opening of Naomi House which will offer safe and sober lodging for women struggling with addictions.  (Nominator: Steve Carrel)

JEREMY & EMBER RIDGLEY (Recovery Supporters) – For their tireless efforts to help others understand what recovery looks like and their caring mission to help others overcome their addictions.  (Nominator: Steve Carrel)

STEPHANIE HINDS (Peer Recovery Supporter): For going “above and beyond” in her efforts to give clients a full and positive experience in recovery.  (Nominator: Kris Headley)

KRISTINA HAWK (Judicial Staff Attorney, Ohio 4th District Court of Appeals)For her courage, creativity and passion in helping others find their way to recovery.   (Nominator: Pamela Kirst)

CHAZ McCLURE AND BUCK BUCKLEY (Ol’ Dirty Strangers Band and Buck Daddy Productions) – For the many charitable events they have offered to help support NAMI Six County and clients in recovery from mental illness and addictions and their families.  (Nominator: Paul Quinn)

GWEN BORDENKIRCHER (Coshocton County NAMI Advocate) – For helping to develop a NAMI Family Member Support Group in Coshocton County. (Nominator: Paul Quinn)

JOY PADGETT (Coshocton County NAMI Advocate) – For helping to develop a NAMI Family Member Support Group to Coshocton County.  (Nominator: Paul Quinn)

SHARON BOLES (NAMI Advocate and Quinn Family Bash Supporter)For consistently supporting persons with mental illness by helping to coordinate the Annual Quinn Family Bash.  (Nominator: Paul Quinn)

JOHN AND SUSAN BORDER (Coshocton County Ambassadors for Mental Health) – For being outstanding ambassadors of mental health in Coshocton County, by helping to dispel many negative stereotypes associated with mental illness.  (Nominator: Paul Quinn)

PAMELA KIRST (Community Advocate and Leader)For co-facilitating the Family-to-Family education series, teaching Mental Health First Aid, and being an outstanding advocate for those with a mental illness and/or substance use disorder. (Nominator: Becky Allison)

JIM & CHRISTY WATSON (Owners of The Barn Restaurant in Zanesville) – For graciously and generously hosting several NAMI Six County fundraisers at The Barn Restaurant.  (Nominator: Paul Quinn)

ASHLEE MILLER (Group Leader, Allwell Behavioral Health’s Day Treatment Program) – For her outstanding efforts to support overall wellness for persons living with mental illness. (Nominator: Mary Mirgon)

NOBLE COUNTY QUICK RESPONSE TEAM (Sheriff Robert Pickenpaugh, Deputy Derrick Norman, Father Wayne Morris, Father Chet Pabin, and Pastor John Powell) – For demonstrating a strong commitment to addressing addiction issues in Noble County and their willingness to reach out to community members in need.   (Nominators: Fellow Team Members Tammy Stillion and Missy Fitzgerald)

ELAINE SHUSTER (Executive Director for Morgan and Noble Behavioral Health Choices) – For being a friend and mentor to her staff, colleagues, community, the Mental Health & Recovery Services Board, and the addiction field.  (Nominator: Theressa Snyder)

DR. DAVID KLEIN (Physician – Muskingum Valley Health Centers) – For giving women struggling with addictions in our community hope for a better path of life with their newborn children.  (Nominator: Dan Atkinson)

VICKIE KUMOROWSKI (Director of Pastoral Care, Genesis Healthcare System)For her tremendous passion in providing education about, working with, and advocating for people in recovery.  (Nominator: Melissa Johnson)

JAN KIIKKA (Supporter and Advocate, Muskingum Behavioral Health)For her long-term support of Muskingum Behavioral Health and her efforts to help women and young girls involved in several community prevention programs.  (Nominator: Kris Headley)

RYLEE BUTLER (Maysville High School Student)For coordinating a suicide awareness walk at Maysville High School that empowered the youth of Muskingum County to take the well-being of themselves and their peers into their own hands and donating the proceeds from the walk to the Muskingum County Suicide Prevention Coalition.  (Nominator: Maureen Montgomery)

SHAWN WALKER (OSU Extension Office – Perry County)For bringing health, nutrition, and positivity to the women and staff of Perry Behavioral Health’s Stanton Villa Residential Treatment Center.  (Nominator: Theressa Snyder)